The Episcopal Diocese of Connecticut
Home  |  Sitemap  |  A A A   
the Episcopal Diocese of ConnecticutThe DioceseMissionResourcesCommunityNews & EventsA-Z FindContact Us

CT people at GC

Current bishops

  • The Rt. Rev. Ian T. Douglas, diocesan bishops (Essex) - Co-Chair of the World Mission legislative committee - will attend with spouse, Kristin Harris
  • The Rt. Rev. James E. Curry, bishop suffragan   (West Hartford) - Co-chair of the National & International Concerns Legislative Committee
  • The Rt. Rev. Laura J. Ahrens,  bishop suffragan  (West Hartford) - Vice chair, Canons legislative committee - also a nominee for election to the General Board of Examining Chaplains

Retired bishops

  • The Rt. Rev. Andrew D. Smith (Bloomfield) retired diocesan bishop (will attend with spouse, Kate Smith)
  • The Rt. Rev. Jeffrey Rowthorn (Salem) (resigned as bishop suffragan in CT to be the bishop of the Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe, now retired)  (will attend with spouse, Anne Rowthorn)
  • The Rt. Rev. Wilfrido Ramos-Orench (Bloomfield)  (resigned as bishop suffragan in CT to be interim bishop of the Diocese of Ecuador Central, S.A., now staff of The Episcopal Church for Province IX (non USA dioceses in the Episcopal Church)

Deputies (each diocese elects four lay people and four priests or deacons and up to four alternates of each, Connecticut sends the four deputies and first alternate for both clergy and laity. 

  •  The Rev. Linda Spiers, chair of the deputation (rector of Trinity, Collinsville) 
  •  The Rev. Ellen Tillotson (former rector of Trinity, Torrington and currently priest associate at Trinity on the Green, New Haven) - serving as secretary of the Ministry legislative committee
  • The Very Rev. Mark B. Pendleton (dean of Christ Church Cathedral, Hartford)
  • The Rev. Alex Dyer (Priest-in-Charge of St. Paul & St. Jamesí, New Haven)
  • (first alternate) The Rev. Erik Larsen (retired, serving at St. Johnís Niantic, lives in Waterford)
  • Ted Mollegen (member of St. Jamesí, Glastonbury) - serving on the Stewardship & Development legislative committee
  • Elizabeth (Liza) Anderson (Ph.D. student in theology at Yale, New Haven) - also a nominee for election to the Executive Council of The Episcopal Church
  • Lynn A. Brooks (member of St. Johnís, West Hartford)
  • Steven Horst, Ph.D. (Wesleyan professor, member of Holy Trinity, Middletown)
  • (first alternate) Rachel Downs (young adult) (lives in Woodbury, member of St. Paulís, Shelton)

Episcopal Church Women - Triennial Meeting July 5-11 (

  • Valzie Peterkin, President of the Diocesan Episcopal Church Women (ECW) (lives in Orange, member of St. Johnís, Bridgeport)
  • Elizabeth (Betty) Silva, First VP of Diocesan ECW (East Windsor)
  • Carol Gardier, White Envelope Program Chair (a Connecticut-based program of its ECW that collects small donations and awards two grants annually for mission) (Bridgeport)  
  •  Betsy Kyle (Ansonia, attends Good Shepherd, Orange) has been named by the CT ECW as the "distinguished womanĒ from Connecticut Ė each diocese names one woman to be honored at a ceremony during the meeting
  • Dot Smith, St. Ann's, Old Lyme was at Triennial for at least part of the time

Organizational representatives at related information booths, or on site

  • The Rev. Colin Chapman (Rocky Hill, tho currently working in NY), Digital Formation
  • Thomas Moore, Society for the Increase of the Ministry (SIM) (West Hartford)
  • Anne K. Lynne, Executive Director of the American Friends of the Episcopal Diocese of Jerusalem (AFEDJ) (Christ & Holy Trinity, Westport)
  • Donald Romanik (Hartford/New York) President, Episcopal Church Foundation
  • The Rev. Barry Miller, with the National Network Episcopal Clergy Associations, (Bloomfield)
  • Marie Alford-Harkey (Integrity, an Episcopal GLBT advocacy group) (city not known at this time
  • Sharon Pearson, Church Publishing - Christian Formation Specialist (Norwalk)
  • Sandra Lynch, the Very Rev. Joseph Britton, Pamela Wesley, Tony Jarvis, and the Rev. Greta Getlin - Berkeley Div. School

Others attending (the diocesan website will update if additional people attend)

  • David Karpf (Wethersfield) (age 16),  part of the Official Youth Presence (two selected from each of the Church's nine provinces; youth have voice and no vote, will attend hearings and can speak during debate. Because of his age, interview requests must go through Episcopal Church Office for Youth Ministries Bronwyn Skov,, or call Karin Hamilton to work on arrangements)
  • Jose de la Torre, of Christ Church, Greenwich, attended the Young Adult Festival there
  • Anne Rowthorn Ph.D., (Salem) will be signing her new book about John Muir
  • Ryan DeLoach, logistics coordinator for the bishops and deputies (Hamden/New Haven) and volunteer in the GC Secretariat's office
  • Anne Watkins, serves on the Executive Council of The Episcopal Church, will be working as a legislative aide  (attends St. Paulís, Norwalk)
  • The Rev. Steve Domienek (St. Andrewís, Madison) volunteer
  • Josh Hill of St. Mark's, New Canaan was seen in the exhibit hall
  • Kate Adamson (St. Paulís, Norwalk) Volunteer
  • The Rev. Canon Audrey Scanlan (Collinsville), presenter at ECW Triennial on 7/10 on lessons from the "Rhythms of Grace" worship program for children on the autism spectrum that she co-founded with Linda Snyder 
  • Linda Synder (Torrington) Presenter at ECW Triennial on 7/9 on the "Rhythms of Grace" worship program for children on the autism spectrum that she co-founded with Audrey Scanlan
  • The Rev. Stephanie Johnson, CT priest and Province One Energy Stewardship Minister, workshop presenter for the ECW Triennial on Greening Congregations (with Episcopal Church staffer Michael Shut)
  • The Rev. Sandy Stayner, President of Province One (New England dioceses) (rector of St. Peter's Cheshire)